A library database contains information which has been reviewed by professional editors and contains information tailored toward a specific subject - or type of material, e.g., magazine articles. Libraries also pay for databases.
Find international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events relating to social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Includes information from magazine, journal, and news articles; along with books, podcasts, and videos.
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
The purpose of this "tutorial" is to sample some of the library's electronic resources (databases), understand library definitions (see definitions tab), and develop library research skills.
Begin your search with EBSCO Research Databases - searching multiple databases
The library subscribes to an online service from EBSCOhost. This service provides multiple databases containing indexed and/or full-text articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and books or (eBooks). View this video tutorial for an explanation about how to search an EBSCOhost database.
Read background information on your subject.
Compile lists of keywords or subject terms.
Search the Online Catalog with the subjects or keywords you have identified.
Are there experts who have researched your topic? Identify them and list.
Search your topic in relevant online research databases.
Skim through the literature you have looked at. Which sources are most useful?