LibGuides: New York Times Digital Edition: Home

Register/sign in

New York Times Digital College Site Subscription This link opens in a new window
REGISTER HERE. (Click on the link above.) Registrants must use their LMC email address to register for an Academic Pass. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Does not include Crosswords or Times Insider.

New York Times (for registered users)
If registered, sign in here. (To register, access link listed above.)
Mobile apps
Your Academic Pass includes access to The New York Times via the NYTimes smartphone and tablet apps. (Click on the Mobile apps link for services.) If you presently have a personal subscription, call 800-591-9233 to cancel. You may need to delete the app, make sure you stop any payments on it, and then reload the app as new.

What a New York Times digital subscription includes

Subscription includes access to the New York Times Digital Edition for all Lake Michigan College faculty, staff, and students.

The site includes all articles, features, interviews, obituaries, columns, and still image, audio, video, and data, text and multimedia published on the site since launch in 1996, with the exception of crosswords and some syndicated materials.
The site also includes a growing amount of text content published in the print edition of The New York Times between its founding in 1851 and the present day. The Times claims that all articles published from 1981 onwards are available on the site. Coverage of pre-1981 material is more sporadic, but growing.
The content is also enriched by inclusion of longitudinal data from syndicates and data sources such as Thomson Reuters and AccuWeather. For example, interactive charts enable users to view the status and changes in the Dow Jones Industrial Average, S&P 500, and other financial indexes in detail for daily, weekly and in some cases hourly periods between January 1930 and the present day.

New York Times in Education - register to use

New York Times in Education
For educators and students. Set up news alerts and get weekly digests in several major subject areas.
more...less...
To register, click above and register at the upper right hand corner using your school email address as your username. (Note that this is NOT the same log on credentials that are used to access the NYT Digital Edition. Use your LMC email to register.)

Troubleshooting

Reset or re-authenticate. Visit http://accessnyt.com/ and search for Lake Michigan College. One will be redirected to the page that says “Already have an account?” Log in here. That is where one should click. (Don't click the blue button.)

If problems with the app, delete and reinstall it.