Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The First Amendment - find it in Credo
Find bills, resolutions
THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. Since that time THOMAS has expanded the scope of its offerings.
Identify topics relating to government and political issues
Click on Browse by Topic to get a list of published reports or topics. Coverage is from 1923 to present. Each report includes a pro/con feature.
Get background information to start your research and use the Mind Map to find related terms and expand your search. Over 3,400,000 full text entries in 1,012 titles from 100+ publishers. Includes images.
Films on Demand - Political Science Video Collection
American government and global politics. Find over 30,000 streaming videos covering 900 plus subject categories. View videos anywhere, 24/7. The films (complete or segments) are available for classroom or individual viewing and can be integrated into Canvas. To create playlists and/or download the app, locate the profile option and create your own personal username and password. A Films on Demand app is available for both Apple iOS and Android. Download the app from your app store. Login to the app using the personal username and password from your profile.
Gale In Context: Global Issues
Click on one of the eight broad subject categories available to get a list of specific topics.
Issues and Controversies (Facts on File)
Over 800 "hot topics" are listed. Find specific questions on the topics.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
A resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more on hot social issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues database.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Covers four hundred topics. Contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue, and provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Per website: Media platform covering politics, policy and management for state and local government leaders. Recognized as the most credible and authoritative voice in its field, GOVERNING provides nonpartisan news, insight and analysis on such issues as public finance, transportation, economic development, health, energy, the environment and technology.
According to their site: RealClearPolitics is trusted, non-partisan...thoughtfully curating the best coverage from every angle of the day's most critical issues...
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
Need statistics for your paper or speech? Find statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. 1400 statistical tables. Includes monthly updates and image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.