LibGuides: Research/services support for instructors: Start here

Selected Online Databases

The library databases are accessible 24/7. Coverage includes full-text content from magazines, academic journals, news sources, books, streaming video, and music.

See below for a sample of databases. Or visit the complete listing: Library databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database, with more than 8,500 magazines and journals. Includes abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Associates Programs Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content.
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This business research database features the full text for more than 2,100 journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
A source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. For off campus access, set up a personalized account on campus using your LMC email.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains citations and abstracts to journal and report literature in all aspects of educational research.
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Mango Languages includes conversation-based lessons in over 70 languages, along with 20 ESL courses for web, iOS, and Android. You will need to create an account on the Mango Languages homepage for individualized instruction using your LMC email and can download the app to access Mango Languages from anywhere. Features include phrases taught by native speakers, voice comparison audio, and movies.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.

Handout - library databases

Handout regarding library databases

Checking out materials

Present your College ID to check out materials in the library. If you teach from, for example, the South Haven campus, you can log into the Online Catalog, search for library held materials, and then request items to be sent to South Haven (or other non Benton Harbor campus). Or, if that is not possible, you can contact us at 269-927-8605 and we can send your requested items to the requested campus.

*Note: Library staff may need to set up a password for you to utilize the log in option.

Citation tool for students - create the citations and export to Word for an instant reference page

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Format citations in APA or MLA style, create your Reference List, and export to Word. Create your own username and password for access to all your research projects.

Library instruction

Do you assign your students a research paper? Do you want your students to learn what materials - print and online are available? The library is here to help. Please contact the library at 269-927-8605 to set up a library presentation.

Newspapers

New York Times Digital College Site Subscription This link opens in a new window
REGISTER HERE. (Click on the link above.) Registrants must use their LMC email address to register for an Academic Pass. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Does not include Crosswords or Times Insider.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use advanced search for best results. Find 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes features such as alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative work space with shared folders and annotated documents.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Search top news stories and information contained on the various sections of the paper such as companies, people, products, etc. For current day's news, click on Advanced Search, filter by date, and click search. Content also includes publicly available (open access) journal articles, pre-prints, dissertations, conference papers and reports.

Streaming and Audio Services

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 79,000 videos. Subjects include social sciences, history, business, diversity, science, media studies, music and performing arts, political and social movements, health sciences, science and engineering, environmental studies, film, theatre, and more. Videos include captions, transcripts; audio descriptions can be provided. Unlimited access and public performance rights included for most. Can be integrated into Canvas.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Experience the thrill of live performances with unlimited access to thousands of full-length productions and educational resources.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A database containing 24,000+ streaming videos, including classic, independent, and documentary short and full-length films. The library is using a mediated model and requesters will see a request form for any film in the collection that the library does not already license. Films are licensed for one year and will appear on the Kanopy site for instantaneous viewing.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
(NML) is the world´s largest online classical music library. It offers streaming access to more than 134,650 CDs with more than 2,063,700 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. This subscription is limited to eight simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.

Purchase suggestion

Have a title suggestion for the library? Please email the library. Please include your name and LMC status. Thank you.

Research/services support for instructors: Start here

Introduction