Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We hope you will take advantage of using the library for your research and/or directing students to use the library. To help you get familiar with the William Hessel Library, take a look at this guide (note tabs above) to see what services and resources we have.
Selected Online Databases
The library databases are accessible 24/7. Coverage includes full-text content from magazines, academic journals, news sources, whole books, streaming video, and music.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Multi-subject database, with more than 8,500 magazines and journals. Includes abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Associates Programs Source (EBSCOhost)
Contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books. This database is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content.
Chronicle of Higher Education
A source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. For off campus access, set up a personalized account on campus using your LMC email.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
Handout - library databases
Checking out materials
Present your College ID to check out materials in the library. If you teach from, for example, the South Haven campus, you can log into the Online Catalog, search for library held materials, and then request items to be sent to South Haven (or other non Benton Harbor campus). Or, if that is not possible, you can contact us at 269-927-8605 and we can send your requested items to the requested campus.
Citation tool for students - create the citations and export to Word for an instant reference page
Format citations in APA or MLA style, create your Reference List, and export to Word. Create your own username and password for access to all your research projects.
Diane Baker, Reference Librarian, 269-927-6287
Vickie Semrinec, Public Services Assistant/Cataloging Technician, 269-927-6281
Kaelyn Goss, Library Generalist, 269-927-6542
Circulation desk, 269-927-8605
Are you and your students aware of the online databases? Citation tools? How to use the online catalog to search for books and other content? Do you assign your students a research paper? Please contact Diane at 269-927-6287 to set up a library presentation.
Films on Demand (Infobase)
Find over 30,000 streaming videos covering 900 plus subject categories. View videos anywhere, 24/7. The films (complete or segments) are available for classroom or individual viewing and can be integrated into Canvas. To create playlists and/or download the app, locate the profile option and create your own personal username and password. A Films on Demand app is available for both Apple iOS and Android. Download the app from your app store. Login to the app using the personal username and password from your profile.
A database containing 24,000+ streaming videos, including classic, independent, and documentary short and full-length films. The library is using a mediated model and requesters will see a request form for any film in the collection that the library does not already license. Films are licensed for one year and will appear on the Kanopy site for instantaneous viewing.
Have a book or DVD suggestion for the library? Please email Diane. Please include your name and LMC status. Thank you.
New York Times Digital College Site Subscription
REGISTER HERE. (Click on the link above.) Registrants must use their LMC email address to register for an Academic Pass. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Does not include Crosswords or Times Insider.
Wall Street Journal
Search top news stories and information contained on the various sections of the paper such as companies, people, products, etc. For current day's news, click on Advanced Search, filter by date, and click search. Content also includes publicly available (open access) journal articles, pre-prints, dissertations, conference papers and reports.