Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Different types of periodicals
Periodicals can be magazines, journals, or newspapers.
Magazines rarely cite sources and are written to entertain or inform.
Journals contain articles with references/sources, original research, and many are Peer Reviewed, with published articles approved by experts. Journals are more technical than magazines.
Newspapers provide articles about current events.
A 5 minute video to Searching Academic Search Complete - search, locate an article, identify the citation
Find articles in these databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database, with more than 8,500 magazines and journals. Includes abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Coverage is from 1923 to the present.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Covers topics affecting us worldwide. Selected information pulled from magazines, academic journals, news sources, podcasts, and reference books.
Herald Palladium (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
The full-text of our local newspaper - recent and back issues. Articles written by HP staff. Coverage from 1999 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search back issues of academic articles from over 1,000 journals. Search settings can be limited to search only the full-text.
MasterFile Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Also includes full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.
New York Times Digital College Site Subscription This link opens in a new window
REGISTER HERE. (Click on the link above.) Registrants must use their LMC email address to register for an Academic Pass. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Does not include Crosswords or Times Insider.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use advanced search for best results. Find 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes features such as alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative work space with shared folders and annotated documents.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Search top news stories and information contained on the various sections of the paper such as companies, people, products, etc. For current day's news, click on Advanced Search, filter by date, and click search. Content also includes publicly available (open access) journal articles, pre-prints, dissertations, conference papers and reports.