Background
A specialized reference source provides:
-
an overview of the topic
-
ideas for searchable keywords
-
lists of other sources from bibliographies that are often included with the entries
Gather background info
-
Read background information on your subject.
-
Compile lists of keywords or subject terms.
-
Search the Online Catalog for library materials with the subjects or keywords you have identified.
-
Are there experts who have researched your topic? Identify them and list.
-
Search your topic in relevant online library research databases.
-
Skim through the literature you have looked at. Which sources are most useful?
Specialized resources
The library subscribes to online research databases with some providing a wide assortment of reference titles, like Credo Reference, with over 1200 titles.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver 3,500,000 full text entries from over 1,000 different sources. Use this resource to gather background information to start your research. Includes mind map.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks, formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library, contains over 200 reference and specialized sources on multiple subjects.
- Salem - Business This link opens in a new windowIncludes Principles of Business in accounting, economics, entrepreneurship, finance, globalization, leadership, management, and marketing.
- Salem Health This link opens in a new windowFind digitized books on alternative medicine, infectious diseases, behavioral health, community and family health, addictions and substance abuse, cancer, women's health, nutrition, and a comprehensive medical guide. Includes authored entries.
- Salem History This link opens in a new windowFind digitized books on U.S. historical periods, countries, immigration, privacy, innovators, world religions, and racial and ethnic relations. Opinions throughout history: death penalty, voter's rights, presidential authority, and guns in America.
- Salem Science This link opens in a new windowFind digitized books on applied science, mathematics, natural disasters, environment issues, climate change, and principles of chemistry, physical science, and physics.
- What Everyone Needs to Know This link opens in a new windowThis series by Oxford University Press offers over 100 volumes written by leading experts in their fields. Content covered includes current issues in the arts & humanities, medicine & heath, law, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Identify Experts
As you read through your literature you should see references to researchers or scholars on your topic. Write down their names. You may want to search them by subject and author when using the Online Catalog or online research databases.
Contact
Diane Baker
Contact:
William Hessel Library
Lake Michigan College
2755 East Napier Avenue
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
Lake Michigan College
2755 East Napier Avenue
Benton Harbor, MI 49022
269-927-6287
Website
Subjects: Library Research