Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases with emphasis on controversial topics or issues
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports written on varied social issues by experienced journalists, thoroughly footnoted and sourced to experts to ensure quality and accuracy of the information. Pro/con arguments included.
Issues and Controversies (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Pro/con topics. Unbiased information. Ideas for debate questions.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more on hot social issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues database.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers four hundred topics. Contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue, and provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Watch a video about using CQ Researcher
Opinions throughout history series
The Death Penalty
Provides an introduction to the death penalty, and how public opinion has fluctuated on capital punishment throughout its history.
Diseases and Epidemics
Provides an overview of major outbreaks that decimated populations and established the makeup of the modern world as well as discussing how societies over time have reacted to such events.
The Environment offers readers mixed sources of information woven together to highlight the overall momentum of developing public opinion around "green" thinking and environmental policy.
Free Speech and Censorship
Covers key points and controversies in the history of free speech in the United States.
Guns in America
Discusses the complexity of the modern gun debate, starting at the founding of the country. A comprehensive Timeline of significant events comes next, beginning with the discovery of gun powder in China in the 9th century and ending with the gun-control positions of leading presidential candidates in 2020.
Law Enforcement in America
Explores policing over the history of the United States and examines how the institution and attitudes about policing have changed.
Explains the unique characteristics of the U.S. presidency and outlines the development and expansion of the executive office, highlighting significant events that relate to presidential authority from the election of George Washington in 1789 to the impeachment of Donald Trump in 2019.
Robotics and Artificial Intelligence
Explores automatons, computing, mechanical engineering, automation in the Industrial Revolution, digital technology, the search for artificial intelligence, and technological singularity--a hypothetical future point when technological growth becomes uncontrollable and irreversible, resulting in unfathomable changes to human civilization.
Social Media Issues
Social Media Issues provides commentary on the ways in which advances in communication technologies and practices have shaped American opinion and history.
The Voters' Rights
Provides readers with an in-depth exploration of not only the topic of voter suppression, but how public opinion influenced action on voters' rights, from the founding of the country, when most states limited the right to vote to property-owning males, to the establishment in 2017 of the Presidential Advisory Commission of Election Integrity, and beyond, to how voter suppression efforts affected the 2018 elections.
War and the Military
Explores the history of America's military, from the rag-tag militias that fought for American independence in the revolution, to the imperialism of the early 1900s, to becoming the world's most powerful military-industrial complex.
Workers Rights & Wages
Discusses how different kinds of work are valued and fit into the U.S. economy as well as laying out the beginnings of the labor movement.