Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The print collection
Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the library's books, eBooks, DVDs, and streaming video available for you to check out or view online.
The children's shelved literature collection in the Hessel Library contains preschool books, picture books, poetry, chapter books, as well as books pertainiing to myths, legends, and folklore. Titles relating to fantasy, historical fiction, young adult literature, African-American literature can also be found.
The collection is located in the east end of the library. Caldecott and Newbery award books are included in the collection.
Find resources on authors, critical reviews and more
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks, formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library, contains over 200 reference and specialized sources on multiple subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The library subscribes to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, III, and IV, which contains the full-text of 350 journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, language, performing and visual arts, and music. Explore more free journal articles and open access book chapters on JSTOR that are open content. JSTOR includes over1,000 collections of images and primary sources from more than 225 libraries and other institutions.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of literary reference works & journals.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature.
A sampling of library books available
Caps for Sale by
Call Number: E S6344c (Books)
Gone Crazy in Alabama by
Call Number: J 813.54 G2161
La Caja de Los Agujeros by
Call Number: E G463 (Books)
Nappy Hair by
Call Number: E H5687n (Books)
Once upon a Time by
Call Number: 398.2 W283 (Books)