LibGuides: Comprehensive literature (article) search to locate journal articles: Begin here

Search tips

Be aware of different filters or limiters to use. These include:

Checking the full-text box,or un-checking it. (Sometimes the check box in an EBSCO database may change if you make search adjustments.)
Selecting scholarly/academic journals
Selecting magazines (non academic journals)
Selecting a date range
Selecting a geographical region
Using the subject heading field

Ways of searching:

Phrase search. "stem cell research" -- Using quotes around phrases will search the words in the same sequence they are entered.
Truncation search. [*] Looks for variations of words. For example: invest* - finds investing, investments, and investors.

Selected EBSCOhost databases and access to more

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database, with more than 8,500 magazines and journals. Includes abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. This resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, and citations to millions of articles.
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This business research database features the full text for more than 2,100 journals. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Communication Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts and indexing for 1,000 core titles and 670 full-text journals from publications pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech, language pathology, media studies and other fields relevant to the discipline. Coverage dates back to 1900.
Environment Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
History Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Music Index with Full-Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers every aspect of classical and popular music. In addition to 170 full-text journals, it includes reviews of performances as well as reviews of sound recordings and videos. Also find selective coverage for more than 200 additional journals.
Political Science Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Science Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

Additional databases from other producers

Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more. Includes global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, language, performing and visual arts, music, Eastern and Western religions, law, education, psychology, and public policy and administration. Includes collections from libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use advanced search for best results. Find 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes features such as alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative work space with shared folders and annotated documents.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar as a supplement to finding information. For more precise searching, more search features, and more content, search the library's databases.

Comprehensive literature (article) search to locate journal articles: Begin here

Integrated search with EBSCOhost databases

Search tips

Selected EBSCOhost databases and access to more

Additional databases from other producers

Google Scholar