Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find articles and reports from magazines and journals
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database, with more than 8,500 magazines and journals. Includes abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more. Includes global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The library subscribes to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I, III, and IV, which contains the full-text of 350 journals in economics, history, political science, sociology, language, performing and visual arts, and music. Explore more free journal articles and open access book chapters on JSTOR that are open content. JSTOR includes over1,000 collections of images and primary sources from more than 225 libraries and other institutions.
MasterFile Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Also includes full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.
A 5 minute video on searching Academic Search Complete
Find background information, news, statistics; Find streaming video on multi subjects
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Get background information to start your research and use the Mind Map to find related terms and expand your search. Over 3,400,000 full text entries in 1,012 titles from 100+ publishers. Includes images.
Films on Demand (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Find over 30,000 streaming videos covering 900 plus subject categories. View videos anywhere, 24/7. The films (complete or segments) are available for classroom or individual viewing and can be integrated into Canvas. To create playlists and/or download the app, locate the profile option and create your own personal username and password. A Films on Demand app is available for both Apple iOS and Android. Download the app from your app store. Login to the app using the personal username and password from your profile.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks, formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library, contains over 200 reference and specialized sources on multiple subjects.
Herald Palladium (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
The full-text of our local newspaper - recent and back issues. Articles written by HP staff. Coverage from 1999 to present.
New York Times Digital College Site Subscription This link opens in a new window
REGISTER HERE. (Click on the link above.) Registrants must use their LMC email address to register for an Academic Pass. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Does not include Crosswords or Times Insider.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use advanced search for best results. Find 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes features such as alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative work space with shared folders and annotated documents.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Numerous titles relating to business, history, science, health, careers, government, education, literature and many other subjects. Includes authored entries.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Need statistics for your paper or speech? Find statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. 1400 statistical tables. Includes monthly updates and image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Search top news stories and information contained on the various sections of the paper such as companies, people, products, etc. For current day's news, click on Advanced Search, filter by date, and click search. Content also includes publicly available (open access) journal articles, pre-prints, dissertations, conference papers and reports.
Find debate or opposing views
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports written on varied social issues by experienced journalists, thoroughly footnoted and sourced to experts to ensure quality and accuracy of the information. Pro/con arguments included.
Issues and Controversies (Facts on File) This link opens in a new window
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Pro/con topics. Unbiased information. Ideas for debate questions.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more on hot social issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues database.
Searching for debate questions with CQ Researcher and Issues and Controversies