Evaluate the Source
Before trusting anything you see on social media or anywhere else on the web, you should evaluate it for accuracy and bias. A good way to do that is to apply the CRAAP test. The CRAAP Test is an evaluation method that was designed by librarian Sarah Blakeslee at the Meriam Library California State University, Chico. CRAAP stands for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy and Purpose. This provides you with a method and list of questions to evaluate the nature and value of the information that you find.
Van Kampen, K. (2023, September 7). CRAAP Test Evaluating Resources and Misinformation. UChicago Library . Retrieved June 13, 2024, from https://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/c.php?g=1241077&p=9082343
Other links
- The American Presidency ProjectNon-profit and non-partisan, the APP is the source of presidential documents on the internet. We are hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
166,253 Presidential and Non-Presidential Records - The Commission on Presidential DebatesUnofficial transcripts of most presidential and vice presidential debates from 1960 to the present.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThis official source is the online counterpart to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Covers electronic and print publications from all branches of the U.S. government beginning with 1976. Includes links to full-text electronic publications, and will eventually include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s.
Nonpartisan Fact Checking Sites
- Factcheck.orgA nonpartisan nonprofit organization that tries to reduce the level of deception and confusion for voters. They monitor the accuracy of politicians in various forms of media.
- PolitifactPolitifact "seeks to present the true facts unaffected by agenda or biases." The journalists biographies are listed on the site. The journalists are careful to avoid sharing any political views, working on campaigns, or making contributions.
- SnopesSnopes got it's start debunking urban legends. It often debunks viral memes and other social media content. Snopes provides sources for all of its fact checks and debunks material from all sides of the political spectrum.
- Fact Checker - The Washington PostFact Checker commits itself to nonpartisanship and fairness, transparency of sources, funding and organization, methodology, and to open and honest corrections.
- Climate FeedbackThis site enables qualified scientists to fact check media coverage on climate change. Science Feedback, the organization behind the site is nonpartisan.
Media Bias
- Media Bias/Fact CheckThis site is a comprehensive media bias resource. It rates sites on bias as well as accuracy. It also offers explanations as to how they reached their conclusions.
- AllSidesAllSides provides balanced news coverage, media bias ratings, and opportunities for civil dialogue. See their media bias chart below.
