Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The purpose of this library guide is to provide quick access to resources about the Great Lakes, including history, environmental issues, invasive species and recreation.
Sources listed on this page provide information for the Great Lakes as a whole, view the individual pages for specific information about each lake.
The long ships passing, the story of the Great lakes, by
Call Number: 977 H388
The Great Lakes by
Call Number: 977.033 B54
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
Tales of the Great Lakes by
Call Number: 977 T14
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
Schooner Passage by
Call Number: 386.54 K1817
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Regional and Invasive Species
Guide to Great Lakes Coastal Plants by
Call Number: 581.977 W3626
Publication Date: 2006-08-03
Guide to Great Lakes Fishes by
Call Number: 597.176097 S6486
Publication Date: 2010-02-18
Environmental and Regional Issues
The Death and Life of the Great Lakes by
Call Number: 577.6309 E282
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
Fishing the Great Lakes by
Call Number: 333.95613 B6758
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
For Love of Lakes by
Call Number: 551.482 N4255
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Lost on the Lakes by
Call Number: 977.411 M9967
Publication Date: 2003-02-01
Ghost ships of the Great Lakes by
Call Number: DVD 910.452 G4277
Publication Date: 2011
Parks and Recreation
Great Lakes Steelhead Salmon and Trout by
Call Number: 799.1240977 W436
Publication Date: 2009-08-11
Woodall's Great Lakes Campground Guide 2010 by
Call Number: 917.706834 W8817 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-12
Databases for more information
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database, with more than 8,500 magazines and journals. Includes abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports written on varied social issues by experienced journalists, thoroughly footnoted and sourced to experts to ensure quality and accuracy of the information. Pro/con arguments included.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Get background information to start your research and use the Mind Map to find related terms and expand your search. Over 3,400,000 full text entries in 1,012 titles from 100+ publishers. Includes images.
Environment Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.