Designed to meet the scope and sequence of your course, Astronomy 2nd ed is written in clear non-technical language, with the occasional touch of humor and a wide range of clarifying illustrations. It has many analogies drawn from everyday life to help non-science majors appreciate, on their own terms, what our modern exploration of the universe is revealing. The book can be used for either a one-semester or two-semester introductory course.
Chemical Biology or biochemistry studies the tools of chemistry and synthesis to understand biology and disease pathways at the molecular level.
Chemistry 2nd ed is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning.
CLUE was designed to help students attain a confident, competent, and coherent understanding of basic chemistry, in particular of the chemistry associated with organisms and their origins.
College Physics meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts. It requires knowledge of algebra and some trigonometry, but not calculus. College Physics includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities for traditional physics application problems.
This text book describes important compounds systematically along the periodic table, and readers are expected to learn typical ones both in the molecular and solid states. The necessary theories to explain these properties of compounds come from physical chemistry and basic concepts for learning inorganic chemistry are presented in the first three chapters.
This work is set up for my Introduction to Physical Science classes.
This text continues to meet the scope and sequence of a two-semester organic chemistry course that follows a functional group approach.
Physical Geology is an interactive comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology, and more.
This textbook covers topics in physics for non-majors.
These books are written for an undergraduate course on the introduction to differential equations typically taken by majors in mathematics, the physical sciences, and engineering. In these texts we will investigate analytical, graphical, and approximate solutions of differential equations. We will study the theory, methods of solution and applications of ordinary differential equations. This will include common methods of finding solutions, such as using Laplace transform and power series methods.
Algebra and Trigonometry 2nd ed provides a comprehensive exploration of mathematical principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra and trigonometry course. The modular approach and the richness of content ensure that the book addresses the needs of a variety of courses. Algebra and Trigonometry 2nd ed offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned.
This textbook guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.
College Algebra provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. College Algebra offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned.
This text is intended for a brief introductory course in plane geometry.
Intermediate Algebra is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester Intermediate algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics.
Introduction to Statistics presents only the core concepts and uses a wide-ranging set of exercises for each concept to drive comprehension. As a result Introduction to Statistics is a smaller and less intimidating textbook that trades some extended and unnecessary topics for a better-focused presentation of the central material.
This text addresses the fundamentals of arithmetic operations with signed number, including fractions and decimals as well as an introduction to signed numbers, including fractions and decimals as an introduction to some elementary topics in beginning algebra. Topics also include ratios and proportions, perfect squares and their square roots, elementary topics in geometry, systems of measurement, and monomial arithmetic.
This Precalculus text is intended for college-level Precalculus students and is a comprehensive book that covers more ground than an instructor could likely cover in a typical one- or two-semester course; but instructors should find, almost without fail, that the topics they wish to include in their syllabus are covered in the text.
This trigonometry textbook this book is not just about mathematical content but is also about the process of learning and doing mathematics. That is, this book is designed not to be just casually read but rather to be engaged. Since this can be a difficult task, there are several features of the book designed to assist students in this endeavor. In particular, most sections of the book start with a beginning activity that review prior mathematical work that is necessary for the new section or introduce new concepts and definitions that will be used later in that section.
Anatomy and Physiology is developed to meet the scope and sequence for a two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body systems.
Biology 2nd ed is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course and provides a comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens.
This resource is intended for an introductory or intermediate-level college genetics course.
This open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues, from a biological perspective. The text is designed for an introductory-level college science course. Topics include the fundamentals of ecology, biodiversity, pollution, climate change, food production, and human population growth.
Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course.