LibGuides: Evaluating sources: What to consider

Consider bias

What is Bias?

A bias is a tendency, inclination, or prejudice toward or against something or someone. Some biases are positive and helpful—like choosing to only eat foods that are considered healthy or staying away from someone who has knowingly caused harm. But biases are often based on stereotypes, rather than actual knowledge of an individual or circumstance. Whether positive or negative, such cognitive shortcuts can result in prejudgments that lead to rash decisions or discriminatory practices.

Things to ask when researching:

Who is the sponsor or publisher? For example, is the article from a political magazine? Is the magazine liberal/conservative? That may reflect the focus of the article.
What is the intent of the information? If a source included research done on a specific drug, did the drug's manufacturer sponsor or fund the research study?

Content can include articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, reports, books, images, videos, and podcasts.

Content in the databases is evaluated by experts and publishers.

Users still need to examine the information from the databases and consider:

Most databases will have information about the article's or entry's source as well as an "About" statement pertaining to their product.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database, with more than 8,500 magazines and journals. Includes abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 3,500,000 full text entries from over 1,000 different sources. Use this resource to gather background information to start your research. Includes mind map.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports written on varied social issues by experienced journalists, thoroughly footnoted and sourced to experts to ensure quality and accuracy of the information. Pro/con arguments included.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks, formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library, contains over 200 reference and specialized sources on multiple subjects.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more. Includes global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints database.

Search library databases, Google, and Google Scholar to identify any other works by the author.

Have others cited works by the author?

Is the author affiliated with an educational institution, business, or organization?

Does the author have a web site? Does the author have expertise on the subject?

Can you identify the author or organizer of the information?

Is the author or organizer an authority on the subject?

Is the material up to date?

Is the point of view of the web site evident?

Is the information well written? Are there errors in spelling or grammar?

Are sources included with the information? You may need to check out those sources or links.

Consider using sites that end in .edu or .gov. (Note that .org can be for either nonprofit or profit organizations.)

Example: Google Scholar

Consider what type of content is covered - scholarly and/or popular?

Purpose of the site?

Is content full-text?

Example: YouTube or library database, Academic Online Video (60,000+ streaming videos).

Is the presentation provided or produced by a reputable institution or organization?

Who are the speakers? What is their expertise? (May need to check author's credentials.)

Is date of presentation or video available?

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 79,000 videos. Subjects include social sciences, history, business, diversity, science, media studies, music and performing arts, political and social movements, health sciences, science and engineering, environmental studies, film, theatre, and more. Videos include captions, transcripts; audio descriptions can be provided. Unlimited access and public performance rights included for most. Can be integrated into Canvas.